Cecina

It is one of Italy’s most sought after tourist locations, not only because of the sea, but also for its historic content.

Cecina was the centre of important settlements occupied by both Etruscans and Romans, the remains of which are conserved in the Civic Archeological Museum of Villa Guerazzi in the La Cinquantina locality. Here, exhibitions of objects from past epochs are held throughout the year. Also worthy of a visit are the remains of the Roman Villa of  San Vincenzino, which to this day preserves mosaics and floors of Roman times, as well as an intact underground cistern.
Cecina’s geographical position is one of its main attractions. Immersed in a green plain, this city lies a few steps from the sea and, at the same time, it is close to the countryside and the nearby hills. The Cecina pine wood, which is the Preserve of the Tombolis (sand dunes covered by thick vegetation)  is one of most beautiful Italian woods, due to the richness and variety  of its vegetation, which winds  from the hinterland to the sea.
Marina di Cecina is the queen of seaside resorts, the ideal destination of sun and sports lovers. Besides a limpid sea and a spacious beach, don’t miss the white sand beaches a few kilometres from Cecina in the direction of Rosignano Solvay.

Cecina

Cecina ist nicht nur wegen des Meeres, sondern auch wegen seiner Geschichte einer der beliebtesten Urlaubsorte Italiens.

Es bildete den Mittelpunkt etruskischer sowie römischer Ansiedlungen, deren Reste im Museo Civico Archeologico di Villa Guerrazzi in La Cinquantina verwahrt werden, wo ganzjährig Ausstellungen von Gegenständen aus früheren Epochen zu sehen sind. Eine Besichtigung verdienen auch die Reste der Villa Romana in San Vincenzino, in der noch heute Mosaiken und Böden aus der Zeit der Römer sowie eine intakte unterirdische Zisterne zu sehen sind.
Die geographische Lage von Cecina ist eine seiner Hauptattraktionen. In eine grüne Ebene eingebettet, liegt die Stadt wenige Schritte vom Meer entfernt. In ihrem Rücken erstrecken sich eine schöne Landschaft und die nahen Hügel. Der Pinienwald von Cecina - Riserva dei Tomboli (das sind von dichter Vegetation bedeckte Sanddünen) ist hinsichtlich der Üppigkeit und Diversität seiner Pflanzen einer der schönsten Wälder Italiens und erstreckt sich vom Landesinneren zum Meer hin.
Die Königin der Badeorte ist Marina di Cecina, ideales Ziel für Sonnenanbeter und Sportfans. Außer dem klaren Meer und dem breiten Küstenstreifen sind die weißen Sandstrände wenige Schritte von Cecina in Richtung Rosignano Solvay zu erwähnen.